Amoo Akinkunmi joins Ibrahimovic’s Hammarby – where are the others?

Amoo Akinkunmi with Zlatan Ibrahimovic
Photo credit: Instagram/osununitedfc_official

Amoo Akinkunmi joins Ibrahimovic’s Hammarby – where are the others?

The FIFA under 17 World Cup is perhaps the fastest route for the discovery and transfer of players to European clubs. The likes of Kelechi Ihenacho, Wilfred Ndidi, Samuel Chukwueze, Victor Osimhen, Taiwo Owoniyi, etc are examples of how much gain a successful World Cup could be.

The 2019 Golden Eaglets exited the World Cup after the round of 16 loss (3-1 loss to Netherlands), considered not good enough by the standards of a five time U17 world Champion like Nigeria, Manu Garba’s boys lacked cordination in defence and also lacked the cutting-edge to put the ball into the back of the net. Their campaign for a sixth world title in Brazil came to an end with a record of nine goals scored and nine goals conceded in four matches, having also fallen short of a podium finish at the African Youth Championships.

The likes of Amoo Akinkunmi, team captain Samson Tijani and Sa’id Ibrahim performed exceptionally well. Almost 7 months later, only Akinkunmi who turned 18 on Sunday has made a move while the rest are back with their respective academies except striker Olakunle Olusegun who is attached to ABS FC of Illorin plus two others who joined the team from England.

After an extensive research, I discovered that bulk of the blame for the inability of these boys to get teams both locally and internationally is because of the selfish ownership battles by agents and this scares away prospective clubs.

2019 Golden Eaglets
2019 Golden Eaglets (Photo Credit: Goal)

Nigeria’s Golden Eaglets squad for the 2019 FIFA under-17 World Cup:

Goalkeepers: Sunday Stephen (Football College Academy), Joseph Oluwabusola (Bournemouth), Daniel Jinadu (West Ham United).

Defenders: Charles Etim (Blessed Stars Academy), Ferdinard Ikenna (A&B FC), Usman Ibrahim (Giant Brilliants FC), Quadri Edun (G12 FC).

Midfielders: Samson Tijani (Collings Edwin FC), Hamzat Ojediran (Jossy United FC), Peter Agba (Falala FC), Daniel Francis (FC Hearts), Monsuru Opeyemi (B. Angel FC), Ibrahim Said (Dabo Babes Academy).

Forwards: Oluwatimilehin Adeniyi (Sporting Dreams FC), Olakunle Olusegun (ABS FC), Wisdom Ubani (Giant Brilliants FC), Peter Olawale (Delta Warriors FC), Akinkunmi Amoo (Sidos FC), Ibraheem Jabaar (Ijebu FC), Abba Bichi (Talentbase Sport FC), Divine Nwachukwu (Riverline FC).


Listen to the NPFL Football Podcast or you DOWNLOAD IT HERE

Join our social media community on TwitterFacebook and Instagram. Like, follow and comment below with your details to receive daily updates

Copyright 2020 The Athletic NG. Permission to use this article or any part of it is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to www.theathletic.com.ng as the source.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Most Popular

To Top
%d bloggers like this:
Skip to toolbar