LMC approves 13 stadiums to host NPFL matches, others listed for upgrade, repairs

The League Management Lompany (LMC) has approved 13 stadiums across the country, who have been certified to have met minimum requirements to host games ahead of the 2020/2021 Nigeria Professional Football League season.

This was communicated to the clubs in a memo which the LMC sent on Friday, October 30.

The LMC read in a statement: “In line with the CAF circular of July 26, 2020 on stadium infrastructure among others, which was forwarded to you and the need to meet up with the requirements of high quality television production by our new partners, The LMC has reviewed various reports submitted on the state of our Stadiums across the country.”

It explained that the inspected Stadiums have been categorised into two – A and B with category A representing those that have been approved to host NPFL matces for the season having met the minimum requirements, while category B includes those requirements upgrades.

“We have made notes on the areas,repairs needed to be done before recertification,” the LMC added.

The 13 approved Stadiums includes Teslim Balogun Stadium (Lagos), Godswill Akpabio Stadium (Uyo), Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium (Benin City), Stephen Keshi Stadium (Asaba) and Okigwe Township Stadium.

Other stadiums that met the requirements are Abubakar Tafawa Stadium (Bauchi) Gombe Township Stadium (Pantami), Aper Aku Stadium (Makurdi), Ahmadu Bello stadium (Kaduna), Enyimba International stadium (Aba), Muhammad Dikko Stadium (Katsina) and Ilorin Township Stadium.

Listed for upgrade and repair works are 11 Stadiums but with Umuahia Township Stadium and Dutse Township Stadium recommended for complete remodelling and reconstruction.

The rest were listed as requiring repairs varying from relaying of new synthetic grass, regressing, provision of floodlights, television camera platforms and upgrade of changing rooms as well as provision of additional exit and entry gates among other basic requirements.

They are Sani Abacha Stadium(Kano), Agege Stadium (Lagos ), Akure Township Stadium (Akure), Warri Township Stadium ( Warri), New Jos Township Stadium (Jos), Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium (Enugu).

The rest are Lafia Township stadium, Ifeanyi Ubah Stadium (Nnewi), Fufure Stadium (Yola), which will be inspected for certification after construction work has been completed.


Join our social media community on TwitterFacebook and Instagram. Like, follow and comment below with your details to receive daily updates.

Copyright 2020 The Athletic NG. Permission to use this article or any part of it is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Most Popular

To Top
%d bloggers like this:
Skip to toolbar