NFF adopts PPG, says new league season will begin September


The Nigeria Football Federation, NFF, has announced that the body will adopt the Point Per Game, PPG, option presented by the League Management Company in the collaboration with Football Club Owners Association on Nigeria to end the 2019/20 Nigeria Professional Football League season.

The decision was taken today, Friday, July 10, following a resolution passed in an online meeting of the NFF Football Committee, which had in attendance the Chairpersons of all the National Leagues and the President of the Nigeria Referees Association, the Executive Committee of the NFF has, after a holistic consideration of all the issues affecting the leagues (including the status of the leagues before the advent of the COVID-19 pandemic), the impact of the pandemic-induced disruptions, the health, safety and movement restrictive measures in the country, the potential protocols for football resumption, the costs, the financial status of the leagues and clubs, CAF calendar and resolutions of the various leagues as conveyed to the NFF,  approved the following.

The resolution states that the NPFL will “end at current Matchday 25 and the Points Per Game (PPG) table will be used to rank the teams in order to ensure sporting merit and sporting fairness.

“The names of the Top 3 (three) clubs on the NPFL final PPG table as at Matchday 25 shall be submitted to CAF to represent Nigeria in the 2020/2021 CAF Inter-Club competitions (2 slots for CAF Champions League and 1 Slot for CAF Confederation Cup).”

The release by the media department of the body also states that “there will be no promotion to, or relegation from, NPFL for the 2019/2020 season.”

Despite the continued spread of the COVDI-19 pandemic in the country, the football body says the new NPFL, NNL, NWFL, Aiteo Cup and NLO seasons will resume in September or October and end in May 2021.

“The NPFL 2020/2021 season will start from September/October 2020 and end May 2021 subject to the full reopening of the country and the approval of the health authorities.”

The Nigeria National League will work with the NFF and participating clubs and stakeholders to “ensure a successful fresh start from September/October 2020,” which will include a review of the NNL structure to optimize its development.

The Nigeria Women Football League, NWFL and Nationwide League One which was yet-to-commence the 2019/2020 season is aborted and will begin and end in September 2020 and May 2021.

Kano Pillars who were champions of the AITEO Cup in 2019/2020 season will be presented to CAF for the 2020/2021 CAF Inter-Club competition (Nigeria’s 2nd slot in the CAF Confederation Cup), reserved for Federation Cup winners.

The AITEO CUP 2020/2021 season starts from September/October 2020 to end May 2021 and is subject to the full reopening of the country and the approval of the health authorities.


Download the latest episode of The Athletic NG NPFL podcast. Links below.


Join our social media community on TwitterFacebook and Instagram. Like, follow and comment below with your details to receive daily updates

Copyright 2020 The Athletic NG. Permission to use this article or any part of it is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Most Popular

To Top
%d bloggers like this:
Skip to toolbar