Super Eagles

Nigeria vs Sierra Leone: Rohr name Etebo, Aribo, Osimhen for Sierra Leone doubleheader

Super Eagles of Nigeria

Super Eagles Head Coach Gernot Rohr has called up the likes of Ahmed Musa, Alex Iwobi and 21 others for next month’s 2022 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying double-header between Nigeria and the Leone Stars of Sierra Leone.

Defenders Kenneth Omeruo, Leon Balogun and William Troost-Ekong, midfielder Oghenekaro Etebo and forwards Moses Simon, Samuel Chukwueze and CSKA Moscow’s Chidera Ejuke are also called up.

Nigeria’s leading talisman, Victor Osimhen returns after missing out of this month’s friendlies against Algeria and Tunisia just as midfielder Joe Aribo and South African based goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi.

Switzerland-based goalkeeper Sebastian Osigwe will hope to earn his first cap for Nigeria, while defenders Kelvin Akpoguma and Zaidu Sanusi, who impressed in the friendlies in Austria have been handed opportunities to add to their caps.

There are seven players on standby including defender Abdullahi Shehu, goalkeeper Francis Uzoho, midfielder Ramon Azeez and Samson Tijani, and forward Paul Onuachu.

The Full List:

Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa), Sebastian Osigwe (FC Lugano, Switzerland), Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, Netherlands).

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo(CD Leganes, Spain ), Leon Balogun ( Glasgow Rangers, Scotland), Chidozie Awaziem (FC Boavista, Portugal), William Troost-Ekong (Watford, England), Olaoluwa Aina (Fulham FC, England), Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany), Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (WestBromwich Albion, England) Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal), Kelvin Akpoguma (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim, Germany).

Midfielders: Oghenekaro Etebo (Galatasaray, Turkey), Tyronne Ebuehi (FC Twente, Netherlands), Frank Onyeka (FC Midtjylland, Denmark), Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland).

Forwards: Ahmad Musa (unattached), Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England), Emmanuel Dennis Bonaventure (Club Brugge, Belgium), Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France), Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain), Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy), Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England), Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia).

Standby: Francis Uzoho (APOEL Nicosia, Cyprus), Samson Tijani ( TSV Hartberg, Austria), Abdullahi Shehu (Omonia Nicosia, Cyprus), Ramon Azeez (Granada CF, Spain), Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain), Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC), Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium)

Players are expected to report at the Protea Hotel Emotan in Benin City on Monday, 9th November. Victory in both encounters will all but guarantee Nigeria a slot at the 2022 Africa Cup of Nations finals holding in Cameroon.

The Super Eagles will take on the Leone Stars at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium, Benin City on Friday, 13th November before flying to Freetown for the return game on Tuesday, 17th November at the Siaka Stevens Stadium.


Join our social media community on TwitterFacebook and Instagram. Like, follow and comment below with your details to receive daily updates

Copyright 2020 The Athletic NG. Permission to use this article or any part of it is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Most Popular

To Top
%d bloggers like this:
Skip to toolbar