Super Falcons

Oshoala’s Barcelona are champions of Spanish women league

Super Falcons Striker Asisat Oshoala has won the Spanish Women’s league title with FC Barcelona Femeni as the 2019/2020 Primera Iberdrola season comes to an end due to the current coronavirus crisis.

According to a statement by the Royal Spanish Football Federation, RFEF, the women’s league will not resume, implying that the Spanish federation has taken their decisions about promotions, relegations, championships, and European competitions.

The Royal Spanish Federation of Football, RFEF, therefore chose to finalise the Primera Iberdrola 2019/20, with FC Barcelona as champions and the league ending without relegations.

Asisat Oshoala arrived at FC Barcelona Femeni from Chinese club Dalian Quanjian F.C. initially on a loan deal but owing to her blistering goalscoring form, her contract with the Blaugranes was made permanent until 2022.

ALSO READ: Onome Ebi: Foreign-based players would have qualified Super Falcons for Tokyo Olympics

The three-time AWCON winner scored 20 goals in 19 games to help Barcelona finish with an undefeated season,  with 19 wins and 2 draws, claiming their fifth title.

Barcelona, along with the Atletico Madrid womens team will have a European place for the next season of the 2020/21 UEFA Women’s Champions League.

Atletico Madrid finishes nine points behind their rivals and takes the second Champions League place.


Join our social media community on TwitterFacebook and Instagram. Like, follow and comment below with your details to receive daily updates

Copyright 2020 The Athletic NG. Permission to use this article or any part of it is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Most Popular

To Top
%d bloggers like this:
Skip to toolbar