NPFL

PREVIEW: Rivers United seek to end poor record vs Abia Warriors

PREVIEW: Rivers United seeks to end poor record vs Abia Warriors

Rivers United will hope to improve on their poor record against Abia Warriors when the two sides meet on Saturday, January 2, 2020 in the Nigeria Professional Football League in Aba.

Fortune Omoniwari’s 28th-minute goal ensured Rivers United defeated Enugu Rangers 1-0 in NPFL Matchday 1 on Wednesday at the Adokiye Amesiamaka Stadium in Port Harcourt.

Stanley Eguma’s team have won just one of their last seven meetings against Abia Warriors, a 1-0 victory in Port Harcourt in April 2017. During this period, United have lost three and drawn three times.

They have conceded 7 and scored just 3 in 7 matches against the Abia Warlords. The last two meetings ended in goalless draws in Port Harcourt and Rivers United are yet to win a top-flight match away at Abia Warriors. United have scored just once at home against Warriors, their only victory in this fixture.

Last 7 Meetings
Rivers United 0 – 0 Abia Warriors (01/12/19)
Rivers United 0 – 0 Abia Warriors (06/05/18)
Abia Warriors 2 – 1 Rivers United (29/04/18)
Abia Warriors 4 – 1 Rivers Utd (09/09/17)
Rivers United 1 – 0 Abia Warriors (09/04/17)
Rivers Utd 0 – 0 Abia Warriors (25/09/16)
Abia Warriors 1 – 0 Rivers Utd (15/05/16)

Rivers United will be hoping they can get their first victory away at title rivals and Eguma says his team wants to win every game this season.

“Well it’s the league, we all look for three points at every away encounter. We are looking out for three points and that’s another derby and we expect a tough one but we are prepared for it. Having won today, we expect to win the Abia encounter. We expect to go to Abia State to get a good result.”

Abia Warriors lost their opening fixture on Monday against local rival Enyimba. Samad Kadiri’s penalty was enough to secure maximum points for the Peoples’ Elephant and Head Coach, Imama Amapakabo will hope his team returns to winning ways against Rivers United.

The League Management Company on Wednesday issued a statement, resheduling this fixture which was originally fixed for Sunday, January 3.

The fixture sent to the affected clubs, their FAs and signed by the LMC Chief Operating Officer Salisu Abubakar said the adjustment is to allow the continental team to have enough time to prosecute their international Engagements. 

****

Join our social media community on TwitterFacebook and Instagram. Like, follow and comment below with your details to receive daily updates


Copyright 2020 The Athletic NG. Permission to use this article or any part of it is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to www.theathletic.com.ng as the source.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Most Popular

To Top
%d bloggers like this:
Skip to toolbar